New Federal Officers elected

Following the completion of the 2018 Federation Election process, the successful candidates began their terms of office at the conclusion of the 59th AFAP Annual Convention last week. The new Federal Officers and their appointed positions are: 

 Position   Elected Official
President  Captain Louise Pole
Vice President (Administration & Finance) Captain Ben Bollen
Vice-President (Membership)  Captain George Kailis
Trustee  Captain Robert Nicholson
Safety & Technical Director  First Officer Stuart Beveridge 

Captain Louise Pole becomes the 32nd President and is joined by Captains Ben Bollen and George Kailis as Vice Presidents. Captain Robert Nicholson was re-elected as a Trustee and First Officer Stuart Beveridge becomes the new Safety & Technical Director taking over from Captain Peter Gardiner. More about the incoming officials and serving Federal Officers can be found on the AFAP website. 

After ten years as Vice President (Administration & Finance), Captain Pole will lead the AFAP executive team made up of representatives from a range of aviation operators. In her acceptance speech Captain Pole acknowledged this great honour and undertook to serve the interests of all the AFAP members.   

She also thanked the outgoing president Captain David Booth for his dedication to the role over the past four years. Captain Booth was an early proponent of the HIMS Australia Advisory Group (HAAG) which is concerned with alcohol and substance dependence among pilots. As well as developing other pilot programs within the AFAP, he was also dedicated and persistent in his lobbying efforts to government ensuring that the AFAP members were given a voice. 

Captain Peter Gardiner was also acknowledged at the Convention for his outstanding efforts over ten years as Safety & Technical Director. Captain Gardiner has also been integral to the AFAP’s lobbying efforts relating to changes to fatigue rules by CASA. Most recently he drove the 2017 University of NSW Australian pilot fatigue survey which is now a benchmark for the IFALPA pilot member associations in the Asia Pacific region.   

Congratulations to all of the incoming officials. In its 80th year the AFAP continues to be the leading organisation representing and promoting the interests of Australian professional pilots.   

Should you have any questions regarding the Federal Elections, please contact the AFAP Operations Manager Joanne Janes ( or 03 9928 5737).


Protecting Australia's Pilots